And I’m Home

A few weeks ago my Hawaiian Sister Wallace showed me a song. “You put your arms around me and I’m home.” Little did I know that shortly after she showed me Christina Perri’s song, I would actually be living those lyrics.

It’s been nearly a week since I left my loved land of England. And I’m just now writing this! Oops. Sorry friends.

Being home has been such an beautiful time. I have been blessed with the welcoming arms of loved ones and incredible support. It hasn’t been easy, but it feels right. Though it isn’t what I ever expected, I know this is where I am supposed to be.

Many people have asked me to continue to keep up with my writing, and I think I will! I have created a new blog, and hope to continue to express myself and this new chapter of my journey there: gabrielasky.wordpress.com

I would just like to write a quick summary for the rest of this week and a half. From the conclusion of my mission to the few days I’ve had at home.

Leaving London and all the people I have come to love was a difficult thing. But I truly felt so much love and support from those there. I was also blessed to attend the London Temple. It was a beautiful time with many special experiences there. And the countryside was so, so lovely.

After saying all my goodbyes, I was off on the plane flying to my homeland. I must admit, when the plane touched down in Detroit, Michigan and I saw an American flag, I instantly started tearing up. It was such a safe, right, comforting feeling. I was (almost) home.

The layover between Detroit and Milwaukee was the absolute longest time. But the flight was alright, and then the long walk to where my family would be waiting. When I saw them, I cannot describe the overpowering amount of love and excitement I felt. I instantly embraced my mom and then the rest of my family. Wow, those kids have gotten so, so tall!

After a good amount of catch-up, we then got some Culvers. Had to get my grilled cheese & custard! So good.

Sunday was church and it was perfect. My friend joined me and we went to the Gospel Principles class with the missionaries, which was so fun. I felt right at home and as if I was there in the Whitechapel Ward.

The rest of the week has included some fun appointments and just being with the family. I have missed them so much, and it’s just wonderful to be together again. We also went to Six Flags which was a blast, until my dad’s phone flew off on the ride. And then we had a tornado touch down in Wisconsin and the weather was just a whole lot of crazy. Always got that opposition 🙂

Well I know this is a brand new chapter & I’ve got a lot of work to do. But it’s going to be great. It’s where I’m supposed to be. I’m forever thankful for those in London & that beautiful city.

& I just want to share one quick quote I loved when starting a Harry Potter marathon with my BFF: “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times. If one only remembers to turn on the light.”

Here’s to turning on the light in those dark times and finding that happiness! Wrapping up this blog seems like a chapter is ending, but really it’s just a new beginning. Sister Fuhriman will forever be an important part of who I am, but for now, I’m Gabriela Sky. And so we will move over there.

Love,
Gabby Fuhriman

Mission Homecoming Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-LhQoq0W70

 

 

Leave a Reply

