Wisconsin Calling

Hello my dear family & friends!  It’s a beautiful sunny day here. The weather has been super hot & humid which makes London such an adventure. I hope this summer might wake London up a bit to invest in some AC! 

This past week has been the craziest, longest, most wonderful, yet most difficult week of my entire mission. Emotions have gone in so many directions. Up and down. Left and right. Craziest rollercoaster I’ve been on. 

The most special moment was when Elder Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and Elder Kearon of the Seventy visited our mission. It was such a joy to have all the missionaries of the England London Mission together, and the conference was incredible. I don’t have words to describe how truly remarkable it was, but all I can say is wow, it was powerful. I am so grateful I had the opportunity to be a part of such an amazing program and shake the hand of an Apostle of the Lord! 

During the conference, as a special musical number Sister Koiv and I sang “A Believer’s Prayer.” Singing in front of not only your entire mission but also an Apostle and member of the Seventy is a bit scary! But it was very special. I loved what Elder Christofferson said after we sang: “I am thankful for the musical number. I can only imagine how difficult it was to get you all together. From America, Estonia, Brazil, and Hong Kong! That must have been really expensive. I’m not sure if you’re going to deal a record label to make some cuts or…” Elder Christofferson is really funny and it was just so fantastic! Someday please please please let me share with you all about that magnificent day. (& read the lyrics of this song because as Elder Kearon said, “Please on a day like today, have this prayer in your heart.” https://www.lds.org/music/text/other/a-believers-prayer?lang=eng&_r=1)

London itself however has experienced much opposition. As I’m sure you all have heard, there was a residential skyscraper fire, which resulted in the loss of many lives. There was also another terrorist attack. Living among this adversity has been very difficult, but the community of London has united during these trials. People have been so loving and ready to serve one another. It has truly been a beautiful sight to see. 

I am not entirely sure how to conclude the rest of this email, but I believe the headline says it best. Over a year ago I wrote an email titled with lyrics from the Clash, “London Calling.” Coming this weekend, I have a new place calling me. Wisconsin. Because I must continue the theme of lyrics from the Clash, I now have new lyrics of the band to sing. “Darling you got to let me know, should I stay or should I go.” Through much consideration, prayers, counselling, and emotional moments, the answer has finally come and that is I should go home to a place where healing can take place. And Wisconsin calling it is. 

My mission has been without a doubt the most thrilling, difficult, amazing thing I have ever taken part of. I never could have imagined all that’s taken place in this beautiful land. It has been the greatest adventure, and later this week my next adventure will begin to take part in my home land Wisconsin. 

The day when I would be writing this departing email seemed like it would never come! I still have no idea what to share. I feel constrained as did Alma, to share “the smallest part which I feel” of joy from being Sister Fuhriman. But I would like to try and share a 5 short things I have learned by serving as a full-time missionary. 

  1. Things may not always work out as we planned. We must say to ourselves, “Thy will be done.” Trusting the Lord’s plan over my own has been difficult to do. I have had my eyes set on the goals and accomplishments behind Door #1. I’ve worked my hardest to reach Door #1. But little did I know that the Lord was preparing Door #3 for me. I never thought Door #3 might hold something better than I imagined. And so I need to trust in that. 
  2. You cannot do anything without Him. This is His Church. This is His work. We cannot do it alone. We need His help and His guidance. We need Him. 
  3. We can do difficult things. I think sometimes as human beings we too easily recognise what we cannot do or aren’t “good enough” at. But we can do so much more than we ever thought possible if we are just willing to try. Sometimes you just have to fight. You have to endure. And you can overcome. And it is OK to ask for help! Don’t be afraid to ask for someone to help you through those difficult things. It might take some humbling in ourselves, but just do it. 
  4. Never ever be judgemental. We make the wrong impression all the time. We spread rumours far too quickly. Through my experience I have come to recognise that everyone is fighting their own battle. We must be a bit more understanding and considerate of what unseen burdens we may each be carrying. 
  5. Because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ, we can heal. We can be made whole. For the past 6 months I have been fighting an ongoing darkness I never thought I would sink into. I have taken all efforts to beat this despair, through spiritual and physical means. But we need to recognise that the Lord may have another plan and is telling us something different than we expected. And if we just try to accept His will, that is when He can heal us. He’s already experienced all that we go through. He knows what it feels like. And so He knows how to make it all better. We just need to trust in His plan, love, and care. 

(Oh and point #6 because I’m Sister Fuhriman and I have to say it…there will always be opposition in all things! And it’s all good and we love it! :))

I love my mission. I love London. I love all the incredible people I have met while serving here. I love being a Visitors’ Centre Sister. People used to always joke with me that I would be a Visitors’ Centre Sister and I would say there was no way! But it was everything I needed and more. I love online work and teaching people from all over the world. I love my companions and the senior couples I have served with. I love my ever so kind counselors and dear Mission President. And I love my Saviour, Jesus Christ. 

This new adventure is one of complete unknown. I think of Peter who when in the boat saw the Saviour walking on water. Peter could have stayed in a safe place in the boat. However, he chose to step out of the boat. He chose to exercise his faith and step out on that water. I myself have now chosen to step out of the boat. Out of my safe place among the people I love so dearly in the England London Mission. I have decided to step onto the water which is extremely unknown and frightening. But there is no other way my faith could be tested and no way my faith could grow if I didn’t step on that water. As Peter, I desire to come closer to the Saviour. I so desperately desire for His arm to immediately stretch forth and catch me. And so I must step out of that boat, and back home. 

Thank you for all of your continual love and support as I have been on this journey! Serving the Lord has been the most wonderful time. Being but an instrument in the Lord’s hand to bring the gospel of Jesus Christ to the world has been a beautiful experience. I will forever be grateful for the time I had to wear Jesus Christ’s name on my chest and give Him my all. 

Here’s to more adventures & forever being a disciple and missionary of the Lord Jesus Christ. Don’t worry London, I will be back soon. But for now… Wisconsin calling!

Love,
Sister Fuhriman

England London Mission4

Leave a Reply

