Come What May

Hey fam! I’m not sure what to write about this week. It was another roller-coaster week and I’m wondering when the ride will end, but then again I was always one who loved the thrill of it, so let’s keep going. 

The best part of the week was easily when I got to FaceTime my family. Those 40 minutes were the best. For those who didn’t know, on Mother’s Day and Christmas we get to Skype our family. It’s a pretty big deal and wow, I miss them so so so so much. It was so good to see each of them. (Also fun fact, Mother’s Day was celebrated two months ago here in the U.K.!) My siblings have grown like crazy & sometimes missions are weird because time feels like it’s on pause but for everyone else it just keeps going. Eli got baptized, Isaiah is a teenager, Eden is talking about drivers ed, and Summer is about to graduate high school. Please slow down! 

Good news: So even though I’m no longer with my Malaysian companion, I guess I still have a love for Malaysia because on Saturday my friends Melissa and Tiffany got baptised in Malaysia! So cool.

I really am lost for words at this moment. But I’ve been thinking a lot about just dealing with the hand we are dealt, climbing our walls, and handling our circumstances. It is becoming aware to those who have been following my weekly emails that I am in a rough patch. I don’t like to be bluntly open, especially over a simple email, but some days seem near to impossible and I wonder how I can move forward. I want each of you to know I am so grateful for your love and prayers. The emails I’ve received from you have meant so much to me during this difficult time. Your support keeps me going when everything else seems to tell me otherwise. Thank you so, so much. 

And so I just want to share a brief message about one of my new favourite talks, “Come What May, and Love It.” I just love Joseph B. Wirthlin’s message and his mother’s saying. (Read the whole talk. Really please do! https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2008/10/come-what-may-and-love-it?lang=eng)

Also as I’m writing this I just realized I’ve been repeating to myself over and over “come what may” in the lovely season of May ha. Brings that saying a whole new meaning to this month! 

“I know why there must be opposition in all things. Adversity, if handled correctly, can be a blessing in our lives. We can learn to love it. As we look for humor, seek for the eternal perspective, understand the principle of compensation, and draw near to our Heavenly Father, we can endure hardship and trial. We can say, as did my mother, ‘Come what may, and love it.'”

I’m a nerd for quotes & so I bought myself a “little book of happiness.” Two quotes that have resonated with me is “do what you can, with what you have, where you are” (Theodore Roosevelt) & “be in love with your life, every detail of it” (Jack Kerouac). And I like what my friend told me- “There will come a time where you will feel like you are in the worst place ever, and the only thing that I can say to you is to try to EXCEL in the situation given you.” 

Excel! Not just get through it. No, we can excel through our trials. We can overcome. We can progress. We can grow. We can achieve. These experiences will be for our good. For our learning. For our experience. For our benefit. I promise I’ll keep trying, so don’t you quit. 

Come what may, and LOVE IT.

Love,
Sister Fuhriman 

One thought on “Come What May

  1. Hi Sister Fuhriman!! We are praying for you and all the missionaries each time we attend the temple!! I am so thrilled for you and the wonderful work you are doing. You make missionary work look so easy! I would love to serve, yet my circumstances are such that I live in Rochester. I know your friend Elder Leon and he is another amazing missionary!! I hope to visit his hometown someday soon, where your cousin was just called!! McAllen Texas also has a paradise island I want to visit. He shared this with me! Well keep up the good work and God bless you girls! Please pray for my son John Gerstner to change his mind and decide to serve a mission. Thank you! Love, Cheryl Gerstner

    Like

Leave a Reply

