A Room of Legos

Day 300. Can you believe it? I cannot. OK just to point it out I only know I’ve been on my mission for 300 days because I’m dedicated to writing in my journal each day and by writing what day it is at the top of the page, then I’m accountable to never miss a day! I’m not counting the days but making each day count. So today is day 300 and it has been the best 300 days!

This week was absolutely outstanding. We had lots of meetings, but a significant one was a mission tour with Elder Phillips, an Area Seventy. Ah it was so so so good. I wish you all could have been there. Honestly we all need some spiritual uplifting and that was one really good boost. 

But let’s talk about our new friend Jason! Two weeks ago a man named Mr. Grey called into the Visitors’ Centre. Now most people that call the phone to the Visitors’ Centre are basically crazies and not the kindest people. Mr. Grey called stating that he is a member of the church but hasn’t gone in years due to his health. He requested for two elders to give him a priesthood blessing AND his son who is 33 would like to learn about the church! We sent the elders to go give Mr. Grey a blessing and it was an incredible experience. Sister Wallace and I then got to meet Jason, Mr. Grey’s son. 

When we first met Jason he basically said, “It has been years in the making and I’m finally ready to commit to the church. I’ve noticed God in my life and I want to follow Him.” We had probably the most incredible lesson I’ve had yet on my mission, and invited him to be baptized on April 8. He accepted the invitation with enthusiasm and said he’s already counting down the days.

On Sunday we said we would meet him at the tube station at 9:45 a.m. and he was there waiting at 9:30, all dressed up in a suit and tie. During one of the classes, he stood up to introduce himself and said, “Hi, I’m Jason. This is my first time here. I am liking it a lot. My baptism is coming up and you are all invited!” He loved church and texted us right after just beyond grateful. Ah! He’s amazing. 

Other good news is that my friend James in Tennessee got baptized! Wooohooo! Our friends Valerio and Abdy also joined us at church and it was awesome to have them both there. Another highlight was teaching the primary kids at church yesterday. We discussed the witnesses of the gold plates of the Book of Mormon and I learned so much from those kids. It was incredible. They know more than me. 

At the mission tour this week with Elder Phillips, he shared a story about a messy room of legos. Now bear with me as I’m obviously not a member of the Seventy, but I wanted to try to share this story. If you’re a parent or reflecting on your days as a kid, I believe this story applies to us all.

So let’s think of a little child (let’s call him Eli because this story makes me think of my little brother Eli haha) and his mom tells him to go clean up his messy room. Little Eli goes into his room and is overcome by the mess. There are legos all over the floor, clothes, toys, and more. He is overwhelmed and doesn’t know where to start. In fact, he gets frustrated that he has to clean and throws the legos all around. He steps on the legos and we all know how much it hurts to step on legos. 30 minutes later when mom comes to check up on Eli, the messy room is even worse. 

But then Eli’s big brother (Isaiah, you can pretend to be the big brother in this story since you really are Eli’s big bro) comes into the room. He kneels down and begins to pick up the legos and show Eli how to clean. They work together and Eli begins to feel proud of the progress they are making. The room becomes clean again. 

My friends, I know how it feels to have a messy room and not know where to begin. Our lives become cluttered with mistakes and sorrows, as well as the busyness of life. We get overwhelmed and quite frustrated with all the legos. We step on them and just get beaten down, discouraged on where to turn next. Our rooms become so messy that we plop down among the legos and just cry out saying, “I don’t know what to do now. Someone please help me.”

And that is when our big brother comes into the picture. Our Savior Jesus Christ is there to help us clean up our rooms. Jesus Christ has already gotten down on His knees for every mess we have made. He has picked up the pieces. He will help us become clean again. 

When we feel we are failing, it’s because we are trying to do it on our own. Imagining the imagery of the Savior kneeling down with me has really put a whole new perspective on things for me. He has already knelt down in the Garden of Gethsemane and He will continue to kneel with us. We don’t need to do it alone.

I am grateful for a loving Savior who helps me pick up the pieces. He helps me clean up my cluttered room. Even though my room may continue to get messy, He never stops offering to help me clean it back up. I would invite you all to start today. If you feel overwhelmed or burdened, turn to Him. Welcome Him in so He may help you. If there are things you need to change, change them with Him. He’s got you! It’s time to clean up our room of legos. 

Love y’all!
Sister Fuhriman

Leave a Reply

