Touchdowns and Fumbles

ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL?!

Jk it ended yesterday. And I don’t get to watch football. But we can talk about football later.  Also hate the Pats. 

So this week absolutely flew by. Sister Wallace was quite sick this week. Turns out when you take a girl from constant Hawaiian sun to classic England rain, she’ll get more sick than she’s ever been. So Sister Wallace has been a trooper.

Because of her sickness, I don’t have much to share. This week I pretty much studied my heart out and watched every church film in our flat. I also texted absolutely every number on our phone. In the text I shared the scripture John 16:33- “In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” A lot of people texted back saying that was exactly what they needed and we even got some appointments to later meet with some friends! Turns out Sister Wallace being super sick still brought miracles. Bless her. 

Sister Wallace and I also had some great bonding moments. But the best was over one of the films titled “Mountain of the Lord.” It is about the building of the Salt Lake City Temple. A journalist is interviewing President Woodruff right before the dedication of the temple in 1893. Long story short, the very end of the video has quite a cool quote. 

The journalist says, “When the saints first petitioned for statehood back in 1850, they wished to call their state ‘Deseret.’ But one senator decided they should have the name ‘Utah’ after the Ute Indians. It was not until years later that I came across the meaning of the word Utah. It means, ‘Top of the Mountains.’ And I thought of the words of prophet Isaiah. ‘And it shall come to pass in the last days, that the mountain of the Lord’s house shall be established in the top of the mountains, and shall be exalted above the hills; and all nations shall flow unto it. Even them will I bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer.'” (Check out Isaiah 2:2)

How cool is that?! Sister Wallace and I just about freaked out. Basically the Lord’s house is obviously the temple, and the Salt Lake City temple is a very profound and well known temple in which all nations flow unto. And it’s in the top of the mountains! So cool. 

Another exciting piece of news is that my friend Collins in Italy got baptized! He said this is the first time in his life that he has truly felt so happy and he’s so excited for this change. He has amazing faith and I’m thankful to know him, even if we haven’t been able to meet in person yet. Next trip: Italy.  

I honestly don’t have much else to share. This week felt nonexistent in all honesty as it just flew on by. The week before was clearly one of those super wonderful weeks and then this week just felt average. But I thought of how that relates to life in general and how we need to know how to manage the ups and downs. I wrote a bit about this once regarding basketball and rebounding. But this time I’m going to speak about another sport. And since yesterday was the Super Bowl, we will use a football analogy for this (sorry English folks and my select friends that are going to get mad at me for saying this, but I mean American football, the best kind of football ;)).

When somebody scores a touchdown in football they call it, “Act like you’ve been there before.” For anyone who has watched football before, you know what the difference looks like for the types of “celebrations” over a touchdown scored. After the touchdown, there is either the player who spikes the football or there is the player that does a crazy orchestrated dance. One guy is excited, but calm about it. The other is typically over the top. 

Now let’s look at the other side- a fumble. Guess which player will handle a fumble better? One, the guy who was excited but calm about the touchdown, will shake off the fumble and move on to the next play.  The other, the over the top crazy orchestrated dancer, will sit on the bench with their head down completely depressed.

And so we notice the response. Spike the football after a touchdown, then go to the sideline and get ready for the next play. After you fumble the ball, go to the sideline and get ready for the next play. It is the same response in both instances.  

We have to keep going onto the next play. And how we prepare for the next play is crucial. When scoring a touchdown, if we “act like we’ve been there before,” then the fumble won’t crush us. We should enjoy the touchdowns and rejoice, but know that when a fumble comes, we can continue to move onto the next play with confidence. 

I’ve noticed this a lot recently in my own life. There’s a super awesome moment and I begin to be the crazy orchestrated player. But then the fumble comes and I end up sitting on the bench with my head down. And then I’m not quite as focused for the next play. We should enjoy the good moments that come in life, but know that when hard times come, which they inevitably do, we can continue to move forward without letting them crush us or halt our drive and determination.  We continue to hope for more touchdowns. 

I’ve been studying hope throughout the past week and hope is quite simply abiding trust in the Lord made manifest in confidence, optimism, enthusiasm, and patient perseverance. We hope all the time that we can score a touchdown or overcome a fumble. So why not hope for the same in life? And do it with the Lord. He will be there through the touchdowns and the fumbles. 

I hope moving into a new week we can face whatever touchdowns or fumbles that may occur with confidence, optimism, enthusiasm, and patient perseverance. I pray that we will always remember the Lord in all aspects of our lives. Let’s get ready for the next play. Of course we want more touchdowns, but there are also fumbles! So let’s do our best, move forward with a perfect brightness of hope, and tackle those touchdowns and fumbles. 

Until next NFL season,
Sister Fuhriman 🙂

Get ready for the overload of last weeks pictures at Hamstead Heath. The only “hike” I’ve done in 9 months. Seeing grass was just exciting. The mud was fun too.

Leave a Reply

