Turkey Time

What. Happened. This. Week. 

I have no clue.

But it was great! I have no time to even process this week in all honesty because it’s been so crazy. I’m so blessed to be serving in the YSA Britannia Ward! There is so much work to do and we are constantly running from here and there. I love it. 

Friday night at 10:30 pm before I fell asleep, I looked at my watch and realized it was November 18. That means, I hit my 6 month mark! Crazy. I feel like I’ve been here for an eternity but at the same time feel like I just got here. One more year fam! It’s flying by.  

I’m still trying to process this week. It was nuts. We had a dear friend who went from going to have her baptism this past weekend, to not having it, to Thursday night deciding to have it, to Friday night everything (with much drama included) falling apart. Opposition is real, but she still has the greatest desire to follow Jesus Christ’s example and be baptized. It is all in God’s timing my friends!

Another one of our lovely friends has to move back to Algeria, which is heartbreaking as there is not a single chapel there. Once again, we know there’s a plan! She has taught me so much in the past 5 weeks that we’ve been blessed to know her. She’s truly a sister of mine. 

But despite the heartbreaks and setbacks, the Chinese continue to show how epic they are! Miracles are real. Here is your Chinese update I know y’all are anxious for 🙂

  1. Aaron is so faithful. Most sincere prayers ever. 
  2. Sharon knows so much more than we ever expected! She’s moving back to China at the end of December, but she’s extremely dedicated and wants to know everything! I love her and her heart is so big.
  3. Boya is Boya. Love the woman hahaha you just have to meet her.
  4. Jacque was a miracle new friend that came in this week! 
  5. Joe. So we were finding on the street and ran into Joe and his sweet girlfriend May. They said they were so sorry they were in a rush, but we quickly said, “Do you have WeChat?!” That stopped them because they were so shocked we had WeChat. So we exchanged WeChats with Joe and he came to the chapel the next day. Super cool dude who really wants to find out if God is there. 
  6. Lucas. Another cool guy we stopped on the street! He came to this fun culture evening we had on Saturday so that was sweet!

Also a fun note from my last area / recent convert Mina: she’s 14 and every Sunday she comes rolling into the chapel all by herself at 9 am. It’s the best sight ever. And this week she brought a friend named Florida who speaks Albanian (I tried to show off my Albanian but she wasn’t very impressed). Anyways, Florida wants to get baptized! Mina is the best little missionary!

Sister Kerr and I also gave a tour at the chapel to a Member of Parliament, which is basically the equivalence of a senator. No big deal. 

Well I know you Americans will be enjoying your turkey on Thursday, while in this lovely country they clearly don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. However, I studied a bit about having a spirit of thanksgiving this week. 

I found a story given by President Monson that I found quite powerful. He said:

“In the book of Matthew in the Bible, we have another account of gratitude, this time as an expression from the Savior. As He traveled in the wilderness for three days, more than 4,000 people followed and traveled with Him. He took compassion on them, for they may not have eaten during the entire three days. His disciples, however, questioned, “Whence should we have so much bread in the wilderness, as to fill so great a multitude?” Like many of us, the disciples saw only what was lacking.

“And Jesus saith unto them, How many loaves have ye? And [the disciples] said, Seven, and a few little fishes.

 “And [Jesus] commanded the multitude to sit down on the ground.

 “And he took the seven loaves and the fishes, and gave thanks, and brake them, and gave to his disciples, and the disciples to the multitude.”

Notice that the Savior gave thanks for what they had–and a miracle followed: “And they did all eat, and were filled: and they took up of the broken meat that was left seven baskets full.””

I love the Savior’s example in which He gives thanks first and then the miracle occurs. As we thank our Heavenly Father for our countless blessings, we will notice more and more blessings. As President Monson continued, “Sincerely giving thanks not only helps us recognize our blessings, but it also unlocks the doors of heaven and helps us feel God’s love.”

This Thanksgiving I would invite you to count your many blessings, naming them one by one. Become more like Captain Moroni in the Book of Mormon, “a man whose heart did swell with thanksgiving to his God, for the many privileges and blessings which he bestowed upon his people” (Alma 48:12).

While enjoying your turkey and pie, take some time to “worship God, in whatsoever place ye may be in, in spirit and in truth; and live in thanksgiving daily, for the many mercies and blessings which he doth bestow upon you” (Alma 34:38).

I cannot begin to express how thankful I am for the many blessings the Lord has given me. Serving here in London has not been easy. In fact, it’s been the most difficult thing I have ever done. 

However, when I am tempest-tossed, discouraged, and thinking all is lost, I notice all the many blessings the Lord continues to graciously give me. When I feel burdened with a load of care or the cross seems heavy I am called to bear; as I count my many blessings every doubt begins to fly and I truly am singing as the days go by.

I am thankful for each of you for your love and support. Your emails mean the world to me. I am thankful to have the incredible opportunity to serve as a missionary in the legendary England London Mission.

I am thankful for my Savior Jesus Christ and the Atonement He has mercifully provided for us. That sentence does not fully express how thankful I am for Jesus Christ. He is my best friend. I love Him and will forever be thankful for all He provides for me.

I am thankful for our loving Heavenly Father. He continually pours upon us blessings. He loves me even when I feel unworthy to be loved. He listens to me and I’m so grateful for His plan of happiness He’s created for us. 

I am thankful for the restored gospel of Jesus Christ, including a living prophet, apostles, and scripture. The Book of Mormon blesses my life daily. I seriously am lost for words to express how thankful I am for all I am blessed with!

I love you all. Enjoy your turkey. Spend time with those you love. And always thank your Heavenly Father 🙂

Love,
Sister Fuhriman
 
PS- GET PUMPED FOR THE CHRISTMAS INITIATIVE COMIN’ YOUR WAY NOVEMBER 25! #LIGHTtheWORLD
Leave a Reply

