Becoming Chinese and Remembering

I know it has only been four days since I last wrote but oh my, it was a full, long, wonderful four days!

So I am slowly becoming Chinese. (FYI- all of these Chinese miracles happened in the past four days, no joke)

Chinese miracle 1: As I’ve mentioned before, WeChat is an app that Chinese use (and also many others who have different intentions for the app…). I found this cool feature where you can add people nearby. I started messaging a bunch of random people to see if they’d want to learn about Jesus Christ. And then a bunch of random people started messaging me. 

As I sorted through the ones that were legit, I found a new friend! He is from China (obviously) and is a Christian! It’s amazing to find a Christian from China because most Chinese we meet don’t have a belief in God. I invited him to come to the chapel for a dinner and class on Thursday night and he came and loved it! 

He came back to the chapel on Saturday and we taught him about the Restoration of the gospel of Jesus Christ. He said that Joseph Smith’s First Vision is proof that God keeps His promises and answers our prayers, and the Book of Mormon shows that God loves His children everywhere, on every continent, all the time. It was as if he was teaching us!

Well he’s now committed to be baptized on December 4th and said his very first prayer in English. This guy is incredible. He just moved here on Monday. So long story short, WeChat is my new best friend and turns out sometimes adding strangers on social media provides miracles!

Also I find that quite humorous that my entire life I’ve been told not to talk to strangers but for 18 months, that’s all I’m going to do…hey, they’re all God’s children and I’m sure I knew of them in the pre-existence… 😉

Chinese miracle 2: A sweet girl  came into the Visitors’ Centre on Friday. She said she had met with missionaries 2 years ago but then moved back to China. She’s returned to London and desperately wants to find peace and wants to meet with missionaries again! 

Chinese miracle 3: A member in the ward brought his friend to institute dinner and church. And he wants to learn about God and is so committed! 

Chinese miracle 4: Another girl was being taught by the missionaries a few months ago, but it was a bit scattered. We’ve been trying to get in touch with her with no solid responses, and on Sunday she miraculously showed up at church! And she wants to get baptized so we are going to work on that.

Chinese miracle 5: Another member in the ward  brought her friend to church. The friend was wearing a CTR (Choose The Right) ring! Turns out she got it from some missionaries awhile back. And she’s really interested to learn more with lots of great questions. 

Chinese “miracle” 6: I was surrounded by Chinese showing off the Chinese I’ve learned, which is really just that I know how to say my name. Sister Kerr was obviously super jealous and wanted to know her Chinese name, but the Chinese didn’t know what it would be! So I said, “What about this?” I proceeded with what I thought would be her Chinese name and it kinda sorta sounded a bit like this: “Wa shu kuh jay may.” And the Chinese freaked out and said “Yeah, that would actually be it!” The gift of tongues is real. 

I love the Chinese people so, so much. There’s no wonder why I had over 100 stuffed panda bears at home, half of my companions have been Chinese, and visiting Chinatown is a regular occurrence. I also eat too much rice nowadays! So once again for all y’all who thought I’d come home with an English accent, it’ll be far from it. I’m starting to think Chinese is cooler anyways 😉

I know lately I’ve had quite the spiritual message at the end of my emails and I hope some of you read them because I really am learning so much every single day! It’s difficult to keep it short haha.

But this week was Remembrance Day and it is so beautifully honored here in England. Everyone wears poppies in remembrance of those who fought and died in the wars for their country. The whole city of London even stopped for two minutes of silence on Friday. 

As I wore my poppy, I thought about what it meant to remember. For the past while now, I’ve been struggling with a few things. As I have had my faith shaken and self doubt, I began to forget the most important truth- God is our loving Heavenly Father. 

Because God is our loving Heavenly Father, He will remind us that He is there. This week He proved to me very strongly that He is there, that He loves me, and He will never, ever forget me. He showed me this in several ways, including through an inspired email from a friend whom I thought had long forgotten me and numerous miracles. 

One day as we cried with a dear friend of ours who couldn’t tell if God was even there, I felt this overwhelming love for her. I wish I could describe in words the immense love I felt for her from her Heavenly Father. As I felt this love, I could feel how real God’s love is for us, and it helped me realize His love for me as well. 

In the England London Mission, we do a fun little role-play practice each day called “Gaps” in honor of the famous London tube line, “Mind the Gap.” One of the gaps we repeated each day this week was that God is our loving Heavenly Father. 

Throughout the gap, we shared the famous scripture (fun fact: it is even on In-N-Out Burger cups), John 3:16. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

God loved us so He sent His son. Christ loves us so He took upon Himself our weaknesses, sins, sicknesses, and overcame death. And He will always remember us as said in the Book of Mormon, “Yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee. Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands” (1 Nephi 21:15-16).

Remembering is difficult at times. We read throughout the scriptures “how quick the children of men do forget the Lord their God” (Alma 46:8). However, we must always remember them. When times get hard and we feel alone, they are there. 

I truly felt this so much this week as I taught our dear friends. I felt like Alma as our friends were “coming to the Lord their God, then [was] my soul filled with joy; then [did] I remember what the Lord has done for me, yea, even that he hath heard my prayer; yea, then [did] I remember his merciful arm which he extended towards me” (Alma 29:10).

God and Jesus Christ are there. They love us. They will always remember us and so we must always remember them. 

And my absolute favorite Chinese phrase for you- Wǒ ài nǐ! (我爱你)

Love,
Sister Fuhriman 

Leave a Reply

