Lost Boy

General Conference is awesome! If you missed it, go back and watch some talks. Seriously, do it.

I had many moving moments watching General Conference, but one of the most powerful moments to me was when we were singing the rest hymn, “I am a Child of God,” during the Sunday morning session.

It was 10am in Utah and 5pm in London, but tears continued to stream down my face as millions of us united singing, “I am a child of God, and he has sent me here, has given me an earthly home with parents kind and dear. Lead me, guide me, walk beside me, help me find the way. Teach me all that I must do to live with him someday.”

I cannot express in words the power I felt as I knew in that moment all my dear friends and especially my family and parents were singing those lyrics together. What an amazing eternal truth it is that we are all children of God! Mom and dad, I love you. Thank you for leading, guiding, walking beside and teaching me. I wouldn’t be here without you. For those who were watching General Conference live and singing that song with me, I felt your love and your presence, so thank you.

Well missionary work continues to be awesome too. Training a new missionary includes a lot of meetings, so our week consisted of training’s! It’s always a bit intimidating to look at where you are currently at, but we have to continue to improve. There is always, always room for improvement.

A couple fun things happened this week. I’ve realized I’m still a clumsy mess and probably always will be. I have had a little toe injury(ish) for the past few weeks. Last week I was forced to go to the doctor and I got some meds. Then this week I went for the check-up appointment. The doctor said, “I am going to have to prescribe you more medication because it isn’t back to normal yet.” Well, I told him he didn’t need to do that because I still had some pills left-an entire sheet in fact. That’s when he said, “That’s half the treatment!” So I got in a bit of trouble and had to keep taking the pills four times a day.

Well I was terrible at remembering to do that. When you come on a mission, you seriously kind of neglect yourself. You are always concerned about others, and something like a hurting toe eventually gets forgotten about. Thankfully I have a wonderful district leader, and so every few hours Elder Kashari would text me reminding me to take my medicine.

So I did! I took 4 pills everyday. The next doctor appointment went well, and hopefully there will be no surgery in the near future. Then Saturday came and I was searching through my bag for the phone. After digging through all the candy I’ve been hoarding in my purse, I found a sheet of pills. I freaked out thinking, “I took all the pills! Why are there still some left?!”

I kept searching for the phone when I found another sheet of pills, except this sheet was almost empty. I was really confused, and then I realized I had been taking cold/flu pills 4 times a day for the past week. That would explain the stomach aches…

Lesson learned: I am going to be a terrible mother. Sister Zeng goes, “You’re my mom!” (Mission lingo) I think that’s when she realized that I really don’t know what’s going on half the time and can hardly take care of myself. But hey, I shouldn’t be getting a cold anytime soon!

I also got stung by a bee who was trying to sneak a bit of my Ben’s Cookie. Good times.

So despite my lack of taking care of myself, everything else has been super great! Jan watched all 10 hours of General Conference. He’s incredible. He knows everything is true and continues to endure. Please pray he will get a job soon, as well as for his dear wife who is struggling alone in Germany.

We also had great lessons with Mike Magic and Anne this week. They both taught me a powerful lesson- your heart and mind have to work together, and you have to be happy. I love when the people we are teaching always end up teaching me! They helped me realise your heart may think that someone or something is providing you happiness, while your mind knows otherwise. I’ve struggled with this for awhile, but as my favorite scriptures says, “O be wise, what can I say more?” (Jacob 6:12)

As for the subject line, Peter Pan has been running through my mind all week. It started with a picnic on P-day when we sat by the famous Peter Pan statue, and has continued throughout the week as I’ve listened to “Lost Boy” by Ruth B on replay.

This song has probably come and gone, but here in the mission field, it’s been pretty popular amongst us Visitor Centre sisters because it’s the only non EFY, MoTab, or “Disney” song we really have. But as I’ve pondered on the lyrics and concept of a “Lost Boy,” I’ve found how spiritually applicable it can be (forgive me if you think this is a bit of a stretch).

The lyrics begin, “There was a time when I was alone, nowhere to go and no place to call home. My only friend was the man in the moon, and even sometimes he would go away, too.”

In our lives we may feel alone, without a destination or a home. We may then turn to worldly images or people whom we depend and rely on. However, those are only temporary and won’t get us to the final destination we seek.

The song continues: “Then one night, as I closed my eyes, I saw a shadow flying high. He came to me with the sweetest smile, told me he wanted to talk for awhile.”

Now imagine for a second the power of prayer. Instead of turning to the world or the man in the moon, we close our eyes. As we offer up a word of prayer to our Heavenly Father, we will realize that prayer is nothing less than a conversation with God.

The next lyrics are, “He said, “Peter Pan—that’s what they call me. I promise that you’ll never be lonely.”

I promise that you’ll never be lonely. How powerful that statement is. It’s true that throughout our lives we can feel lost and alone, but in reality we are not. Rather, if we turn to God, we will realize He is always there, will never abandon us, and we will never be lonely.

With this idea of a Lost Boy, Peter Pan, and Neverland flowing through my mind, I thought of how we are all Lost Boys. We can feel alone and confused, but our Heavenly Father swoops us up, and encircles us in the arms of His love.

“He sprinkled me in pixie dust and told me to believe. Believe in him and believe in me. Together we will fly away in a cloud of green, to your beautiful destiny.”

But that’s the key thing- we must believe. We must believe in what God can do and believe in His will. When we turn to Him in prayer, we must be willing to act on the answer we receive. And as we do so, we may find ourselves on our Neverland journey.

And this is what I find so interesting about Neverland- regardless of how free and glorious it seems, especially in this song, there is still opposition. This Lost Boy’s opposition has a name- Captain Hook. There will always, always be opposition.

I’ve found that to be true through one of my favorite scriptures in the Book of Mormon. Lehi is counselling his son Jacob in the Book of 2nd Nephi. He says, “For it must needs be, that there is an opposition in all things. If not so, my firstborn in the wilderness, righteousness could not be brought to pass, neither wickedness, neither holiness nor misery, neither good nor bad.”

Lehi continues, “And if ye shall say there is no law, ye shall also say there is no sin. If ye shall say there is no sin, ye shall also say there is no righteousness. And if there be no righteousness there be no happiness. And if there be no righteousness nor happiness there be no punishment nor misery. And if these things are not there is no God. And if there is no God we are not, neither the earth; for there could have been no creation of things, neither to act nor to be acted upon; wherefore, all things must have vanished away.

“And now, my sons, I speak unto you these things for your profit and learning; for there is a God, and he hath created all things, both the heavens and the earth, and all things that in them are, both things to act and things to be acted upon.”

Opposition has been in a way my study for the year, and throughout my studies, I have found an overwhelming love for opposition. I have become thankful for it. And the Lost Boy admits he does too: “Peter Pan, Tinker Bell, Wendy Darling, Even Captain Hook—

You are my perfect story book.”

Peter Pan, Tinker Bell, Wendy and even Captain Hook are all essential characters throughout this Lost Boy’s life in Neverland. And so it is the same with us. Our Heavenly Father, paired with the opposition that comes along with mortality, are crucial in our life. We cannot forget one without the other, “for there is a God, and he hath created all things.”

The song concludes, “Neverland is home to lost boys like me, and lost boys like me are free.” We are all free. Free to chose. Free to act and not be acted upon. In the Lost Boy’s case, free to believe in Peter Pan and run from Captain Hook. We are free to believe in God and to face opposition and overcome.

This life really is the perfect story book. It may not always seem that way, but it is. We are blessed to have a life to live in which we can be strengthened through trials and enjoy happiness. We have a Heavenly Father who loves us and with Him we will never be lonely.

Not all who wander are lost, and we are all our own version of a Lost Boy. But we do have a God who leads us and guides us, and so it is crucial that we close our eyes and talk to Him. He will help us fight our Captain Hooks. He will lead us along our journey in Neverland. He will help us return home to Him, in which He will welcome us and remind us that we just needed to continue to believe. Believe in Him and believe in you.

Love,
Sister Fuhriman
Leave a Reply

