The Worth of a Soul

The Worth of a Soul
Lately I have been thinking about the worth of souls, and how our Heavenly Father loves each of us individually. I have thought a lot about how we are each a child of God and of great worth to Him.
What makes something of worth? I believe the worth of something deals with how much you are willing to pay for it.
Doctrine & Covenants 18:10 says, “remember the worth of souls is great in the sight of God.”
If each soul is of great worth to our Heavenly Father, what was the price He was willing to pay for each of us to be able to return to Him?
Verse 11 of the 18th chapter of Doctrine & Covenants continues on to say, “for behold, the Lord your Redeemer suffered death in the flesh; wherefore He suffered the pain of all men, that all men might repent and come unto Him.”
God was willing to sacrifice His son to atone for our sins. Christ was willing to die for us so we may repent and have eternal life.
What greater price is there than the one of a life? And not only that, but the life of God’s only begotten son, who bled from ever pore. The price paid was of a man who felt each affliction, temptation, and sickness of every soul.
Our Savior knew each sould was so important to our Heavenly Father that He was willing to be the ultimate sacrifice.
That is your worth to God. That is your worth to Jesus Christ.
They love you. They want you to come unto them. Christ’s infinite Atonement is there for each of us to use in our lives.
I love this picture because it is called, “The Worth of a Soul.” But notice how Christ is holding the child.
worth-of-a-soul-zoom

Doctrine and Covenants 6:20 says how Christ will encircle us in the arms of His love. This picture perfectly portrays that scripture. Christ loves us and wants to hold us in His arms.
You are of great worth and Christ’s arms of love will hold you. Throughout your darkest moments, your biggest struggles, and your saddest times, your loving brother will lift you up. He knows how you feel. He loves you. He knows you are worth so, so much.
I feel so blessed to know that my Savior loves me. I’m blessed that my Heavenly Father thought my soul was of such great worth that He created a miraculous plan in which Christ could bring me home to my Father. I know that Jesus Christ is there for me through every moment of every day, and I am forever grateful for his sacrifice and love.
Never forget your worth, for your worth is so great to your loving Heavenly Father.
One thought on “The Worth of a Soul

  1. I really like your perspective here. I love your idea of worth being what someone is will to pay. I have often considered the phrase in D&C 18:10 ‘…in the sight of God..’ almost as if the full value of a soul can only be appreciated by Him because of His unique perspective. Elder Joseph B Wirthlin said “We see ourselves in terms of yesterday and today. Our Heavenly Father sees us in terms of forever…” I like to think the one thing that defines the worth of a soul is the potential. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

