One By One

Hey ya’ll! Have I mentioned that I love being a missionary yet? Oh, well I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY! The MTC has been a great experience, but I’ll be off to London on Tuesday! I cannot wait.

Friday included a beautiful time at the Provo Temple, as well as teaching Arnold and Emi. Arnold has lymphoma and it was his last day of chemo, so we celebrated with some sparkling cider.
The days continued to be fantastic, but Tuesday was one for the books. Elder Bednar came for devotional! We got to sing the song he wrote, One By One. There were 810 missionaries in the choir with 5 of the cutest children, including some of his granddaughters. The song was amazing and the MTC choir is who premiered his song, so it was just a really special experience.  Watch out for it in the New Era next month. Elder Bednar also gave a powerful talk about how each of us are ONE. The Lord knows us one by one. He knows your name, your concerns, your hopes, and your desires.
There are so many scriptures and parables in which the Savior explains how we are one. Luke 15:4-7 explains the parable of the lost sheep. The shepherd rejoices when he finds that one sheep. Luke 15:8-10 shares the parable of the single piece of silver. Again, the parable is about the one. Luke 15:11-24 is the story of the prodigal son. When the son said he “was no more worthy to be called thy son,” the father’s response was of pure joy, for his son was lost, but now was found. The prodigal son is one.
And it doesn’t stop in the Bible. In 3 Nephi 11:14, Christ invites each person to come forth unto Him, that they may thrust their hands into His side, and also that they may feel the prints of the nails in His hands and in His feet, that they may know He was slain for the sins of the world.
One by one 2,500 people saw with their eyes and felt with their hands the wounds of the Savior. Now imagine each person had only 30 seconds to do so. That would already take 20 hours. I’m sure it took so much longer than that. Christ loved each person individually, and wanted them to know, one by one, that He is their Savior.
And finally in 3 Nephi 17:11-24, Christ “took their little children, one by one, and blessed them, and prayed unto the Father for them.”
One by one! Christ knows all of us. He loves all of us individually. If He were in front of you at this moment, He’d tell you that you can do this. He’ll ever heed you, though in the darkness you’ve gone astray. His love will find you, and gently lead you from darkest nights in to day. He loves you. You are His sheep. You are His one.
After the devotional, us sisters in our district said goodbye to our incredible Elders, who went to Des Moines, Iowa on Wednesday. Elder Clark and Elder Cheshire gave each of us a picture frame with a picture of our district, as well as a priesthood blessing. I cannot express in words how special that moment was to receive a blessing of comfort from my Heavenly Father through two of His faithful and worthy servants. I love Clark and Cheshire so, so much. I have been so blessed by their testimonies and examples. I know they’re already doing amazing things in Iowa.
I have now begun Visitors Center training with 40 other sisters from all around the world! I have met the sweetest girl from Ghana. I have been able to work one on one with a girl from China, and though the language barrier is hard sometimes, I have learned so much from her. And I’ve worked with some incredible girls from Italy, France, Bulgaria, and so many more places! I was explaining to one girl from Taiwan that I’m from Wisconsin and where it is. She then said, “oh, it’s going there right? That’s why you’re so white!” And I was just thinking I was starting to get tan! Let me tell you, missionary tan lines are the best. But really though, I do have some tan lines! Faint, but they’re there.
Honestly, I’m just lost for words to explain how incredible it is to be with people from all over the globe, united in one purpose. This purpose is to teach others that Christ loves them and that they are one. One by one, my dear friends. Christ loves you one by one.
Love,
Sister Fuhriman
One thought on “One By One

  1. You and your beautiful heart continue to make me smile. I am so glad that this part of your journey has been so rewarding. You will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers as you move on to doing His work in London. Love ‘ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

