Hakuna Matata

Another wonderful week. I think “Hakuna Matata” perfectly describes our week here at the lovely MTC. And well, it might be because we decided Elder Chesire is Pumpa and Elder Clark is Timone and they sing “Hakuna Matata” through the halls.. But it’s also because there’s no worries for the rest of our days as we continue to learn more about the gospel of Jesus Christ!

Life is so good. Friday we went to the temple and Sister Erasmus and I did a little cool thing Jeff taught me at BYUI when we’d go to the temple. While sitting there reflecting, we open to a random scripture. I needed some comfort and the random scripture I opened was Doctrine and Covenants 29:4. It reads, “verily, I say unto you that ye are chosen out of the world to declare my gospel with the sound of rejoicing, as with the voice of a trump.” That scripture just answered my prayers. I know I was called of God to be here, and I’m so excited to continue my journey and share this beautiful gospel with the sound of rejoicing!
Saturday was a lovely evening for our district. We were able to talk and bond together. They have really become like family here. Sunday in choir we found out something pretty awesome.. Elder Bednar wrote a song that we are going to sing next Tuesday, with his grandchildren! It will be the premier of his song, and I get to be a part of it! And he will then be speaking at the devotional that evening. Ah, it’s going to be so great!
Monday was another fantastic day. We began teaching a man named Arnold who is a feisty old man. When we first met him he said, “I’ve been in every jail in the western states for the past 12 years.” Sister Erasmus and I didn’t really know what to say, so he said, “aren’t you going to ask me why?” So we did, and he said, “I fix the telephone booths the inmates use.” He’s been so great to teach! He continues to ask tough questions and then is surprised when we have the answers. We are also teaching Emi, who is the sweetest lady from Japan. She doesn’t speak much English, but teaching her has been such a humbling experience. Watching her faith grow has been a beautiful sight to see, and she wants to get baptized. I hardly know these people, but I love them so much! As I have continued to see people through God’s eyes, and that these are His children, I have been able to feel so much love for them. It’s been just absolutely magnificent, and my heart is so full and happy.

Tuesday came with more powerful expereinces, and Wednesday was a great day as well. We got to be hosts for the new missionaries coming in and help them get all situated. 468 new missionaries! It was so awesome to be a part of helping them. It kind of feels like forever ago since I came to the MTC. But it is so neat to be a part of all these 18 and 19 year old young men and women, wanting to give up 18 months to 2 years of our time to serve others and share the gospel. The word “gospel” in Hebrew means “good news.” So the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the good news that Christ lives and through His Atonement we will all live again!

I could go on and on with how happy I am to be here. But the one last thing I would like to share are lyrics from the song we sang Tuesday night at the devotional. I invite you all to look up the song, and maybe find a version from The Mormon Tabernacle Choir because it is such a beautiful song that has brought me so much comfort.
Sweet Hour of Prayer
Sweet hour of prayer!
That calls me from a world of care.
And bids me at my Father’s throne
Make all my wants and wishes known.
In seasons of distress and grief
My soul has often found relief.
And oft escaped the tempters snare
By thy return, sweet hour of prayer.
And since He bids me seek His face
Believe His word and trust His grace
I’ll cast on Him my every care
And wait for thee, sweet hour of prayer.
I love life. I love this gospel. I love my Savior. I love being able to pray to a loving Heavenly Father. I love being able to serve others. And I love you all! Life is just such a beautiful blessing.
Love,
Sister Fuhriman
Leave a Reply

